News reaching us confirms that Dr Johnson Byabashaija, the outgoing Commissioner General of the Uganda Prisons Service has been rejected for re-appointment by the Parliamentary Appointments Committee headed by Speaker Rebecca Kadaga.

Dr Byabashaija was forwarded to the committee by President Yoweri Museveni along with his deputy, James Mwanje, who was also rejected by the same committee on account of being beyond the public service mandatory age (60).


Mr James Mwanje

Reports reaching our desk clarify that the two were all born in 1957, making them 62 years. Just two over the required service age.

The same Appointments Committee rejected Ms Irene Karugonjo Seggawa whom Mr Museveni had appointed as the Chairperson of the newly established Leadership Code Tribunal.

Ms Seggawa

Parliament argues that she doesn’t meet the required qualifications to serve in the position. The position requires one to be a judge or advocate of the High Court.

Ms Okelowange Jane, Didas Bakunzi Mustasha, and Ms Joyce Nalunga Birimumaso were also appointed as members to the tribunal and have similarly been rejected. The Tribunal Deputy Chair, Asuman Kiyinji was endorsed by the committee.

Other high profile appointments that made it through were the newly appointed Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Jane Frances Abodo and the new Bank of Uganda (BoU) deputy governor, Atingi-Ego.

READ ALSO:  SAD: Ugandan MP Succumbs to COVID-19

The Parliamentary Committee has reportedly written back to the appointing authority and expressed that there would be a legal anomaly if the unqualified are vetted through.